• Adress

    Schwarze Ahe 19  
    58849 Herscheid

  • Opening hours

    Access to Ahe-Hammer is only possible after consultation with the Foundation for the Preservation of Industrial Monuments and Historical Culture.

  • Tours

    A tour program is currently being developed.

  • Association

    Förderverein Osemunddenkmal Ahe-Hammer Herscheid/Werdohl e.V.


Exhibition workshop. The blacksmith comes to life.

Even today, visitors have the opportunity to admire these remarkable mechanics during demonstrations in an exhibition workshop. In addition, another interesting aspect moves into the spotlight: life as a blacksmith. For example, the plant’s writing room and bedroom are also open next to the old coal bunker. They invite visitors to experience the unusual everyday life of the craftsmen up close – and to take a journey into long forgotten times.

Use. A lot more than just a building.

Extraordinary testimony of history and a fascinating monument. In the future, the Ahe-Hammer should also be available for tours and touristic concepts – e.g., in connection with the route of the Association WasserEisenLand e.V.
Care of the blacksmith’s shop is the responsibility of the Association for the Promotion of the Osemund Monument (Förderverein Osemunddenkmal) Ahe-Hammer Herscheid/Werdohl. When construction work is completed, the monument should give visitors of all ages unique insights into the history of forging art as an extracurricular place of learning.

History. Milestones since 1592.

The blacksmith’s shop was created between 1592 and 1612 and was owned by the Brüninghaus family for around 400 years. Märkische Osemund iron was produced up to 1859. Afterwards, Ahe-Hammer was used to produce forged goods/ironwork. In the years 1882/84, a renovation took place that has given the plant its current look.

Blacksmith operations were shut down in 1941.

Nine years later, Ahe-Hammer opened up its gates as a museum showpiece and has been under monumental protection since 1984. In 2013, the significant building became the property of the Foundation for the Preservation of Industrial Monuments and Historical Culture, which ensured the monument’s preservation.


1 Blacksmith’s shop

16th/17th century
Renovation 1883/84


16th/17th century
Renovation 1883/84

Blacksmith operations

until 1941

Exhibition workshop

since 1950


since 1984

Foundation location

since 2013


5.616 m²

Technical facilities/machines

2 Hammers

2 water wheels

1 shaft

2 fireplaces inside of building

2 weirs at pond

Restoration, redevelopment and construction measures


Strengthening of roof structure on hammer building, maintenance and reconstruction work on the weirs


Renovation and design of pond area

2016 tbc.

Maintenance of installations for blacksmith operations


Strengthening of structural stability

2017 tbc.

Renovation of roof and walls