Industriedenkmal-Stiftung
Industriedenkmal-Stiftung NRW, 16.10.2018 03:02
www.industriedenkmal-stiftung.de/docs/325682814832_en
The Consolidation Colliery Shaft 9
The twin strut frame headgear above the central shaft number 9 of the Consolidation colliery dates back to 1922. The tower has been saved from demolition and stands out against the horizon as the landmark of the suburb of Bismarck in Gelsenkirchen. Together with its two engine houses it has been listed as a protected historical monument.  
The engine house to the north has been cleaned up and, since 2006, has been used by the city of Gelsenkirchen to present the collection of the artist Werner Thiel which comprises fascinating found objects from the world of mining. Furthermore, it houses the “Consolidation colliery initiative circle” and provide room for its events.  
The engine house to the south has also been cleaned up. Here, thanks to the great commitment of the initiative circle a steam-driven hauling engine can be put into operation for demonstration purposes.
© Stiftung Industriedenkmalpflege und Geschichtskultur, 2018
Alle Rechte vorbehalten
Vervielfältigung nur mit schriftlicher Genehmigung der Stiftung